{FASHION} Boys Can Wear Pink

Hi all! I’m finally back again to the blog. It’s been a long couple of weeks. I’m jumping in on the Boys Can Wear Pink Blog Tour today hosted by Handmade Boy. One of the biggest things is the notion that boys cannot wear pink because it’s a “girly” color. Quite frankly, I didn’t realize that GOD made “boy” or “girl” colors. Each color is uniquely important just like you and I. So don’t all gender stereotypes to create a closed mind.

Everyone Can Wear Pink…Especially Boys

Boys Can Wear Pink

My kids are always so excited when mama makes something. It really doesn’t matter what the item is…just the fact that their mama made it takes the cake. When I told the twins, I was making them something and that they’d need to entertain themselves for part of the day. You should have seen the excitement and calm all bottled into one. Immediately, they asked if they could play on their Kindles. Yes, absolutely!

Agathe & Theo Pants

Boys Can Wear Pink

So while they played, mama sewed, and sewed, and sewed. This is the part of my “job” that I love. Creating and making things for my boys.

Boys Can Wear Pink

First, I made the Agathe & Theo Pants from Filles a Maman. I’ve sewn two of her patterns before here and here. The pants are considered slouchy or harem style. For my youngest, I made size 24 months/2 and cut the waist elastic to fit the 18 month size. 12 months to 14 years is available in the pattern. The pants aren’t overly slouchy (which I like) and fit well. If you would like a more slouchy/harem pant style, you probably could/should increase the length to the 3 size. The best part was from printing to finished pants was about an hour. This is perfect for us! Two active 3 year olds makes it necessary to get things done quickly.

Boys Can Wear Pink
BCWPHattieLuHandmade-2832 copy

Recess Raglan
Boys Can Wear Pink

The second project on the cutting table was see kate sew’s Recess Raglan. This is literally my go to pattern for my boys’s raglan shirts. From start to finish, the Recess Raglan can be finished in 45 minutes. Yes, it’s that quick.
Boys Can Wear Pink

I made the 3T size with long sleeve cuffs. The pattern has 5 different sleeve lengths. Available for sizes 18 months to 8 years. I didn’t hem this one because my middle son is growing like a weed. He has plenty of room to continue growing up too fast! One issue that gets me every time is the neckband. It’s narrower than the pattern is written because I can’t sew a kids neckband straight to save my life. Kate has a free tutorial for hoodie conversion.
Boys Can Wear PinkSee boys CAN wear PINK. The only thing stopping them is you. Take the challenge and prove that pink is just another color. We all love different things; that’s what makes us unique. It’s wonderful to give your kids the opportunity to express themselves. Self expression helps build character. What will you make for your son?
Boys Can Wear Pink

 

Boys Can Wear Pink

Prize Package:
Prize package includes the following
1 pattern of choice from Momma Quail Patterns
2 patterns of choice (excluding bundles) from Patterns for Pirates
3 digital designs of choice from Handmade Escapade
3 patterns of choice from Winter Wear Designs
Bartowski Slim Tie Pattern from Paraplu
$10 gift certificate from Mabel Madison

There will be one random winner. International entries welcome. Winner will be contacted via email and will have 48 hours to claim their prize before a new winner will be drawn at random.

a Rafflecopter giveaway
https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

9 thoughts on “{FASHION} Boys Can Wear Pink

Leave a Reply

