{Fashion} Spring Capsule, Part 1: Fashion Trends

spring wardrobe

What is a Spring Capsule Wardrobe?

Good Morning! Spring is coming. Now is the time to start thinking about sewing or compiling your Spring 2016 Capsule.

What makes up a Wardrobe Capsule? Caroline Rector defines it as “a mini wardrobe made up of 37 really versatile pieces that you totally love to wear.” Before you feel your heart palpitating, you don’t have to throw away everything in your closet. Think about each season separately, then clear your closet except for those set number of pieces. Don’t let 37 pieces constrict you. The combinations are endless. For example, I only wear maybe 3 different pairs of shoes depending on the season. I don’t need to have 10 choices for shoes to make-up my 37 pieces. Since Spring is coming soon, let’s focus on creating a capsule for Spring only right now.

Research Fashion Trends

Now that you’re somewhat familiar with a Wardrobe Capsule how should you get started? Start by asking “Am I interested in the latest trends?” If the answer is yes, then start by researching the latest trends on Google, Pinterest, Instagram, Facebook, etc. You can read magazines like Elle, Mademoiselle, Marie Claire, Harper’s Bazaar, and Vogue for inspiration. Use these resources as a guide on what you’d like to add to your capsule. What are some of the trends for Spring 2016? Here’s a list of a few:

  1. White Shirts
  2. Victorian Sleeves
  3. Pleats
  4. Art
  5. Lingerie
  6. Off-the-Shoulder
  7. Plaid
  8. Ruffles

Here’s my Pinterest compilation of Spring 2016 fashion trends.

//assets.pinterest.com/js/pinit.js

What trends do you like for Spring 2016?

My dear friend, Becca DuVal, has a whole section of her blog, Free Notion, devoted to Wardrobe Capsule tips. She goes in depth about determining the perfect style for your body type, how to determine your body type, how to mix and match, and the dreaded cleaning out your closet. The coolest part, in my opinion, about creating a wardrobe capsule is that you’re saving time and energy when it comes to getting dressed.

Here is Caroline Rector’s five-step approach to building your own capsule wardrobe.

  1. Pare down your closet to 37 items.
  2. Wear only those 37 items for three months.
  3. Don’t go shopping during the season.
  4. During the last two weeks of the season, plan and shop for your next capsule.
  5. The amount you buy for the next capsule is up to you, but less is more.

Pop over and read all of Caroline Rector’s great tips for pairing down your closet! Do you think you can stick to this pledge?

Here’s your challenge for this week. Research the latest Spring 2016 fashion trends to find what works best for you. Everyone won’t be the same. Find the styles and trends that speak to you.

Next week, I’ll be back with Part 2: Bring Your Style Together.

 

13 thoughts on “{Fashion} Spring Capsule, Part 1: Fashion Trends

  1. Well I never actually shop for anything besides jeans now…so I have very much limited my actual spending on clothes. The rest of my closet is being filled with sewing, but I’ve been removing storebought items each time i put a new handmade one in. It’s helped me clean my closet a lot!

    Like

  2. I love this idea; and I’m hoping I can commit to this at some point in my life. I’ve been working on getting rid of pieces I haven’t worn in years, downsizing my closet, etc. Now, whenever I buy new items, I think: Can I wear this all year long, or at least 3 of the 4 seasons? If not, I put it back! I’ve also been investing in more expensive pieces that I’ll keep forever instead of $10 tops on sale (that I can only wear for one season). Great post!

    Like

  3. Such beautiful prints!

    I can never get down to just 37 items simply because I need such different clothes for different aspects of my life. I’ve tried to go down to about 37 items for casual wear and then 37 (or a few more) items for the office. I might give it a try again this spring/summer!

    Like

  4. I tried going down to Caroline’s number and it didn’t work for me. I did section off and try to work with just a few items for a while. I think my lowest number was like 42 or something like that including shoes. I did one two summers ago and did it into fall and it really helped me learn my style, but continuing like that wasn’t for me.

    Like

    • I think I can do 37 pieces only because 3 pairs of shoes works well for me. The challenge of creating a wardrobe that you’ll actually use consistently is appealing. I’m afraid that Spring os going to be the Winter we missed in the South. Fingers crossed I can get a few pieces for Spring as a trial & commit to Fall.

      Like

  5. Such great information! I’m concerned that spring will just be the winter that we have so far missed out on, I may just skip over it and give myself more time to work on a summer capsule.

    Like

Leave a Reply

