{STYLE} Momiform Makeover

What’s your Momiform? Isn’t it interesting as moms that we all have our own special style. Most of our Momiform is geared around our children. Everything outfit has to be spill proof, chase ready, and easy to get on! I think the greatest trait to motherhood is how we all forget ourselves. Everything we do is centered around our children’s well-being. So what is your Momiform? What do you cover-up behind each day? Here’s mine!

Momiform Makeover~100

From August to February this is how I dress every single day. You’d like I was a football fanatic or something! The outfit above is my weekend and Saturday wear. GO TIGERS BEAT THE IRISH!!! The outfit below is my Sunday wear. HOW ‘BOUT THEM BOYS!!! I’ve committed myself to get up every morning, shower, and be ready to go when my three littles are ready to go. Boy, do they go!

Momiform Makeover~101

When Lauren Dahl from Baste + Gather had the idea of making over sewing moms, I jumped at the opportunity to jazz up my wardrobe. It’s been hard sitting on my makeover! I’m really excited how well my outfits came together. What’s the bonus? Every piece is interchangable!! Score!!

Momiform Makeover~112

For my first outfit, I paired the Kathryn Top from Itch to Stitch and the Go To Knit Pants from Go To Patterns. The only change I made to the Knit Pants was to increase the hem allowance. This gives the pants the illusion of a trouser style pant. Jazzed up nicely! The outfit is paired with the Lola Bea Diaper Bag. She is beautiful in Art Gallery Fabrics. Perfect combination between utility and mommy style. I’ll explain the heels a little later.

PicMonkey Collage GTP ITS SMA

Since it’s getting colder, you’re going to need a coat. This is my modified Lady Grey from Colette Patterns. I wanted more a pea style coat. I added pleats across the back for a little more flare, omitted the sash and added buttons, and opted for smaller lapels. This was my first attempt at a real jacket! Three muslins later, I’m in love!

Momiform Makeover~119

Yes, I’m wearing heels! Love, love, love them! I’ve always been a sneaker (tennis shoes) type of gal. The addition of the heel gives me so much needed height. The most important thing…fit a pair of heels that work for you! I added insoles to mine and I now feel like I’m walking in the clouds. Footwear is important!! Find what works best for you!

Momiform Makeover~110

Now remember, I mentioned about my football fanatic status. No Momiform would be complete without incorporating football into my wardrobe. To jazz up my lame football t-shirts and jerseys, I mashed the Centerfield Raglan and the narrower skirt of the Katie Dress from Greenstyle Creations. The vinyl lettering highlights my NFL allegiance to the Dallas Cowboys! See the star! Read more about the Centerfield Raglan here.PicMonkey Collage Centerfield SMA

Every mom carries some type of diaper bag. Should I say a handbag that doubles as diaper bag. Sew Much Ado‘s Lola Bea Diaper Bag was perfect for me. We need three different changes of clothes, two different size diapers, extra underwear, wipes, hand  sanitizer, and the kitchen sink (just kidding)! To my surprise, everything fit inside of Lola Bea! I made two alterations. First, was to the interior elastic pockets. Instead of sewing to create three separate pockets, I only created two pockets on each side. This works better for me. My cellphone and wallet fit well inside the interior zippered pocket. Second, replaced the magnetic snap with a twist lock. The twist lock is perfect for keeping everything in place.

PicMonkey Collage SMA

Ok, I know….doesn’t every mama need something a little dressy? Yes we do! The Kathryn Dress from itch to Stitch fit the bill wonderfully. She’s great to transition from work to date night. She’s also great for meeting your child’s teacher for the first time. Great first impression!

PicMonkey Collage Itch to Stitch Kathryn 1Last, but not least, my new, everyday outfit. Greenstyle Creations Centerfield Raglan with AWESOME custom knit sleeves and Winter Wear Designs Real Deal Jeans. I talk at length about Real Deal Jeans here.

Momiform Makeover~121

Are you still with me? Lots and lots of options from Greenstyle Creations, Itch to Stitch, Go To Patterns, Sew Much Ado, Winter Wear Designs, and Colette Patterns. One last parting thought…about the fabric. Thank you to Purpleseamstress Fabric, Girl Charlee Knit Fix, Curiosities by Jeni Baker for Art Gallery Fabrics, and Jo-Ann Fabrics & Crafts for the awesome fabrics! Super duper from the bottom of my heart THANK YOU to my sewing sister, Sarah Unthank, for crafting the vinyl letters!

Now, stop what you’re doing! Get to your sewing machine and start crafting your new Momiform. We, as moms, can be stylish and practical at the same time! What will you make?

 

Momiform MAKEover

REMEMBER:
Scroll to the bottom of this post to enter the two separate Rafflecopters! 50+ winners will be selected!

Get 10% off your fabric order from now through October 1 at Michael Levine/LowPriceFabric.com with code: Makeover10

Get 20% off your pattern order now through October 1 at UpCraft Club with code: MOMIFORM

Are you MAKE-ing over your Momiform? Join the fun on Instagram with hashtag #momiformmakeover

 


 

Be sure to check out all the awesome series participants to get lots of momiform inspiration!

Reyna Lay Designs | Call Ajaire | Golden Rippy | Love Notions
Sew Not Perfect | Scientific Seamstress | Rebel & Malice
Creative Counselor | Mabey She Made It | If Only They Would Nap | Boy, Oh Boy, Oh Boy Crafts
Shaffer Sisters | FABulous Home Sewn | Fa Sew La | Baste + Gather
Lulu & Celeste | Swoodson Says | Phat Quarters | Hey June | Stitch Upon a Time
Climbing the Willow | Everything Your Mama Made & More | Näh-Connection | 110 Creations
A Jennuine Life | Straight Stitch Designs | Sew Straight & Gather | KZJO’STUDIO
Wild & Wanderful | Mae & K | Handmade Frenzy | HattieLu Handmade

 



Sponsors

 

momiform major sponsors

Special thanks to these major sponsors who generously donated the following items for the giveaway:

(There will a different winner for each line item so we can spread the love around!)

Janome – One Skyline S5 Sewing Machine*
Indiesew – Four $50 gift certificates (four separate winners)
Michael Levine / Low Price Fabric – Four $25 gift certificates (four separate winners) and 10% discount for readers through October 1 – code: Makeover10
UpCraft Club – Two $25 gift certificates (two separate winners) and 20% discount on patterns through October 1 – code: MOMIFORM

And the following pattern designers who graciously provided patterns for the series participants and/or contributed the following items for the giveaway:

Grainline Studio – Two patterns of your choice
True Bias – Hudson Pants & Southport Dress patterns
Colette -Two patterns of your choice
Closet Case Files -Two patterns of your choice
Sew Much Ado -Two patterns of your choice
Sew Straight & Gather – Three patterns of your choice
Golden Rippy – Two patterns of your choice
110 Creations: A Sewist’s Notebook
Patterns for Pirates – Two patterns of your choice
Itch to Stitch – Two patterns of your choice
Mouse House Creations – Two patterns of your choice
Hey June Handmade -Two patterns of your choice
Peekaboo Pattern Shop – Three patterns of your choice
Go-to Patterns – One women’s pattern of your choice
GreenStyleCreations -Two patterns of your choice
Puperita – One pattern of your choice
Sofilantjes – Two patterns of your choice
Charlotte Kan – One pattern of your choice
So Sew Easy – Two patterns or one bundle of your choice
OUSM Designs – Women’s Thumbs-Up Tee pattern
E-Beth Designs – Two patterns of your choice
Muffin Head Patterns – Any pattern of your choice up to $10
GrayDay Patterns – Sandpoint Top or Athena Top pattern (your choice)
Scientific Seamstress – One pattern of your choice
Stitch Upon a Time – $20 gift card
5 out of 4 – Two patterns of your choice
Frianki Patterns – Two patterns of your choice
KZ Jo Studio – Two patterns of your choice
Straight Stitch Designs – Full collection of patterns
Sewing Patterns by Aivilo Charlotte – Two patterns of your choice
Striped Swallow Designs – Two patterns of your choice
Rose and Lee Designs – Two patterns of your choice
Sewing Geek Patterns – One pattern of your choice
Filles a Maman – One pattern of your choice
Bella Sunshine Designs – One pattern of your choice
Liola Designs – One pattern of your choice
Cali Faye Collection – One pattern of your choice
Tinman Patterns – Orbit Skirt pattern
Felicity Sewing Patterns – Two patterns of your choice
Winter Wear Designs – Two patterns of your choice
Ellie Inspired – Three patterns of your choice
Love Notions – One pattern of your choice
a Sparkly Baby – Two patterns of your choice
Terra’s Treasures Designs – Two patterns of your choice

*Janome giveaway winner must be located in U.S.A. and is therefore on a separate Rafflecopter below. Machine must be picked up at a local dealer; it cannot be shipped.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

This second Rafflecopter includes all the other sponsor items since they can be awarded internationally! You must enter both Rafflecopters in order to be entered to win both the sewing machine and the rest of the giveaway items. All patterns awarded will be in PDF format. Enjoy!

//widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.jsa Rafflecopter giveaway//widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

29 thoughts on “{STYLE} Momiform Makeover

  1. You look awesome! I love that you found a way to show your love of football while still looking put-together. I have the GreenStyle Katie and raglan too; trying out this mashup just jumped to the top of my list!

    Like

  2. Love your post especially with the little guys. I have two of them. I’ve been mostly sewing for myself lately but love the inspiration from you that I could even make my own jeans or jacket. Love the Janome up for grabs too with the needle memory and drop in bobbin.

    Like

  3. I am so very impressed. First because your little ones are so cute and because you found the time (and energy) to sew such great clothes. When mine were little I was lucky if my clothes stayed clean for an hour. I want to “borrow”your jacket and black/white dress.

    Like

  4. I love when Machines have speed control. I tend to fly and not be as accurate without it. It also helps when I am teaching my daughter to sew because she apparently inherited my lead sewing foot lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

