{STYLE} Fall Pattern Showcase: Jocole Quick Dress

It’s fall y’all! This is officially my new slogan! I love, love, love Fall weather. It’s cool in the morning and warms up just enough to be comfortable. I’m honored to be hanging out with Becca DuVal from Free Notion on the The Fall Pattern Showcase Blog Tour. She’s such a fashionista and inspiring seamstress. Doesn’t she make you want to sew your heart out!!

Last week was all about Layer Pieces for Fall. If you missed it, catch the round-up here. This week’s focus is all about Tops & Tunics. I chose Jocole‘s Quick Dress and Top pattern to showcase. So why the Quick Dress? It’s super easy to pull together with 500 options! Ok, ok, I’m exaggerating slightly, but you get the point.

DSC_1510-1

I used the color blocked yoke option to create a football themed tunic. The tunic is paired with a chunky belt to give the illusion of a waist. I could have achieved the same idea/look with shirring at the waist, but I like options. So on days when leggings are in order, the belt can be removed for a true tunic length.

DSC_1531-6

About the colors, if you haven’t figured out, I’m a huge football fan, enthusiast, fanatic…. On Saturday and Sundays from September to January, you’ll find me cozy on the couch yelling at the television screen. Football is my second life! The yoke is purple and the bodice is Riley Blake Orange Damask. All Clemson University colors!

DSC_1515-2

Pattern Description: Quick Dress and Top

Designer: Jocole

Fabric Used: Riley Blake Orange Damask and Joann Fabrics Purple Quilting Cotton. The Quick Dress/Top can be made using knits.

Pattern Sizing: XXS to XXXL

Options: Contrasting yoke.  Elastic under the bust, at the waist or at the hips.  Boatneck or scoopneck neckline. Inseam pockets. Sleeve Options: Shorter Extended Sleeves, Extended Sleeves, Sleeveless, Cap-Sleeves, Short Sleeves, 3/4 Sleeves and Long Sleeves.

Size & Options Sewn: XXL- long sleeve, front & back yoke, tunic length

Did it look like the cover photo? Almost! I didn’t add shirring at the wrists or waist.

Were the instructions easy to follow? The directions are easy to follow.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like that the dress/top offers so many different options. This is a great staple piece. Easy to transition through all seasons. I didn’t like that the top made me feel like I was swimming. I will definitely size down on the next one.

Similar Patterns: I’m not aware of any pattern that is similar to the Quick Dress. It’s truly unique in the PDF sewing world!

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: No alternations at all! On the next one, I’d like to add cross body details on the bottom yoke for a more contrasting style.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes. YES!

11990529_10102596229716709_3060623086037927313_n

Who else is hanging out with Free Notion this week? Check out the other great posts today!

The Creative Counselor

Lulu & Celeste

In a Manner of Sewing

Climbing the Willow

Kelly’s Sewing Creations

Free Notion

4 thoughts on “{STYLE} Fall Pattern Showcase: Jocole Quick Dress

Leave a Reply

