{STYLE} Just for ME January, Take 2

Just for ME January Week #2: Date Night

Remember last week’s challenge for Just of ME January was Casual & Chic? Did you miss my blog about it? No worries check it out here.

Well fast forward to this week! The challenge, if I chose to accept it, was Date Night. Yes, that’s exactly what you heard! Around here, Date Night or any form thereof is nonexistent. My three rowdy toddlers have done both parents in by the weekend. Gone are the hot dates that were in our courting phase. Now, all my hubby and I do is completely veg-out on the weekends. He goes to the closest television to watch football and I retreat to my sewing space.

I thought that sewing pajama pants and a raglan t-shirt would be the perfect outfit for Date Night, but that challenge is next week! So this week let’s tackle the “if I was going out” what would I wear?

Beautiful South Carolina has some HOT summers. Almost too hot for this native some days. I also do not like clothing that “clings” for this reason. There’s nothing like sweating and clothes sticking to you! The Vanessa Top from Scientific Seamstress/SISBOOM fit the challenge perfectly! The top is cut right above the knee. It will work perfectly for those HOT South Carolina summers!!!!

However, summer is a long, long way off at this point. Definitely need a more versatility. Here’s the autumn/winter look using Vanessa as my base. I added Palazzo Pants from Patterns for Pirates. The jacket was already laying around. The wristlet is Coraline from Swoon.

IMG_2145

 

Don’t fret! If you’re in a more mild place right now. I have the look for you! Still using the Palazzo Pants from Patterns for Pirates to complement Scientific Seamstress’s Vanessa Top.

IMG_2146

Now, if you remember last week, I asked for help choosing the fabric combination for this week’s challenge. If you missed it, click here. The first choice received the most “votes”; however, Scientific Seamstress released Carolina Mae mid-week so my plans were quickly revamped!

IMG_2149

To make the challenge more “challenging” I added red piping to the Judy Fancy Pants. The pants fabric was a whopping $2.62 per yard! What person doesn’t love a good deal! What do you think about the added piping flare?

So get ready for next week’s challenge, Comfy & Cozy! I need this right now! I’m freezing.

Click here for more information about Just for ME January.

Below are links to the patterns used:

SisBoom/Scientific Seamstress Vanessa Easy Shift Top or Dress

Patterns for Pirates Straight Palazzos Pants, Capris, Shorts

Swoon Sewing Patterns Coraline Clutch

4 thoughts on “{STYLE} Just for ME January, Take 2

Leave a Reply

