{REVIEW} Tried Something New…Slim Messenger Bag

So I tried something new for a custom order Christmas gift. Amazingly, I’m proud how it turned out. I used a tutorial from Sew4Home. I don’t use tutorials that much normally. Mostly the downloaded patterns have tutorials, per se, but this was completely 100% web based. No download to be had except two pieces to cut curves.

Sew4Home Slim Messenger Bag

Sew4Home Slim Messenger Bag

Needless to say this was outside my comfort zone, but thought ‘in order to grow’ to dive right in. Thank goodness the tutorial wasn’t as hard as it seemed. Basically, the tutorial was the same as any set of directions used in following a pattern.

My customer’s request was a messenger style bag for her teenage daughter. Her daughter’s interests are music and aerospace. Her favorite color is blue. The exterior fabric is blue bottomweight from Joann’s.

Back

The coordinating fabric for the music was really hard. Music is a special thing to me. The inside fabric is a classical music motif from Jo-Ann’s. My dad always played classical music in the car (or Car Talk) wherever we went together. So I thought it would be nice to share a little bit of that with her.

I replace the push locks with a turn lock. This works better for an added layer of security.

Front

Front

It was definitely fun trying something new for a Christmas gift! You can find the Slim Messenger bag tutorial here. Along with the link to the two pattern pieces.

8 thoughts on “{REVIEW} Tried Something New…Slim Messenger Bag

  1. Happy New Year!! I love how this messenger bag came out and how you used some personal touches to it. Especially, how you pulled in the classical music fabric in reference to your father. I am stopping by from Sew Crafty Angel’s Wake Up Wednesday linky party and a co-host. This is what I shared from the party: http://craftybrooklynarmywife.blogspot.de/2014/12/my-favorite-posts-from-2014.html and I am following you now too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

