{RELEASE} Swoon Patterns Bonnie

I am a bag collector. Yes, that’s a nice way to say I buy way more purses, pocketbooks, and handbags than most could shake a stick. So it’s quite natural that sewing a purse is right up my alley.

Meet Bonnie! The newest release from Swoon Patterns!

IMG_0580-0.JPG

What makes Bonnie special? She is the perfect slouchy, retro, hobo style bag. What are her greatest features?
1. Recessed zipper
2. Welt pocket (with or without zipper)
3. Roomy
4. Quick sew

The recessed zipper allows Bonnie to be fully functional without taking away from her style. The welt pocket is truly amazing. Perfectly placed for quick on-the-go access to your keys and cell phone! She is definitely roomy. The oval bottom is 11 inches long and just shy of 6.25 inches wide. The upper portion is 12 inches tall and 15 inches wide. The strap, I made, is 26 inches long from bag end to bag end (includes connectors). My first attempt from start to finish was 6 hours. After the practice round, as I call it, my suggested time for an intermediate seamstress is 3-4 hours.

IMG_0579-0.JPG

Here’s what you’ll need to make her:
1/2 yard 44″ quilting weight Main Exterior fabric
1/2″ yard quilting weight basic exterior fabric
2/3″ quilting weight Lining fabric
2.5″ yards woven fusible interfacing (ex Pellon Shape flex 101)
1/4″ heavy sew in stabilizer (Pellon Peltex 70)
15″ or longer main compartment zipper
7″ welt pocket zipper (optional)
Two 1.5″ O-rings or 1″ rectangle loops

I picked Robert Kaufman’s Christmas coordinates and a remnant piece of blue suede from Joann’s. This was my first time working with suede and I’m impressed with the results.

IMG_0581-0.JPG

You’ll truly love Swoon Patterns latest release as much as I do!

As always, please contact me to design hour custom Bonnie today!
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/hattieluhandmade
Email: hattieluclothing@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

