{REVIEW} Swoon Patterns Dorothy

I was inspired to sew the Dorothy Day Tripper after seeing the beautiful bags made by Diedel Bugs Handmade. A plus was there was a sew-a-long hosted by Swoon Sewing Patterns. All the good intentions were to participate in the sew-a-long; however, my week began and ended crazy.

Since the pattern was already taped and ready to go, I thought why not tonight (Friday). After looking at premade bag pictures, I decided on the exterior layout & interior layout. I began cutting the pattern pieces around 9:30 p.m. Some general observations:

You will need more fabric that what is listed in the materials section.The downloaded pattern requires 1 yard each of lining fabric and exterior fabric. I purchased 1.5 yards of the orange dots and paisley fabric. This was not enough to make the design with the contrasting desired.

You will need more interfacing (Pellon #808) that what is listed in the materials section if you would like to cut continuous pieces. I used the Craft-Fuse for all parts of the pattern that required interfacing. I was short on the interfacing for the handles, but pieced together to make due.
Split the work over at least two days. It is 2:00 a.m. and I’m still fusing the interfacing and fleece.
An easy tip to turn the handles…use needle nose pliers.

The negatives:

Challenging to follow the tutorial. This pattern was extremely challenging to sew together. The tutorial did not seem clear enough for me. I truly struggled from 9:00 a.m. Saturday until almost 4:00 p.m. trying to follow the tutorial. The sew-a-long guide did help; however, there were parts where more detailed pictures would have been helpful.
The pattern pieces did not match up easily. I pinned the tops & bottoms, but had a lot of trouble preventing the pieces from overlapping while sewing.

The positives:

Make an overnight bag that is uniquely yours.
The new handles included in the sew-a-long offer a more polished bag.
Overall, I am happy the Dorothy made itself together. I see every imperfection. I see that this isn’t my best work. The frustration; however, was absolutely worth every single pin prick, tear, and bad word.

Leave a Reply

